Which Course is Right for Me?

Quickly understand Six Sigma Certification and choose the level that is right for you.

Here are answers to commonly asked questions about six sigma, lean six sigma, and the different levels of certification.

What is Six Sigma?

Organizations, large and small, apply Six Sigma techniques to deliver faster, cheaper, and improved services to their consumers without compromising on quality. Six Sigma is a technique which provides scientific results for cutting costs and reducing waste.

What is Six Sigma Certification?

A standard program certifies that each individual engaged in the process is prepared to use this management technique. Certain tests must be passed when you progress through the training program. The stages along this progression are labeled in the same manner as martial arts training. Green belts, black belts, and master black belts, are awarded to professionals as they prove their knowledge and reach the next level.

Which industries use these certifications?

Six Sigma is used to manage quality in large and small organizations from manufacturing to banking to medicine and more. The levels of certification are understood and recognized within all fields, all industries, and all parts of the world.

What is the Top Six Sigma Certification?

A person who has undertaken all of the training can implement Six Sigma in an organization as a program manager. They are awarded the Master Black Belt and are responsible for imparting knowledge to help lower level learners in improvising on their projects.

To be a candidate for a Master Black Belt first requires a Six Sigma Black Belt Certification.

What is a Six Sigma Black Belt?

The Six Sigma Black Belt is awarded to individuals who master the Six Sigma roadmaps, extensive arithmetical methodologies, and cross-functional process improvement. Black belts usually take up responsibility as Six Sigma team leads.

Who can enroll in Black Belt training?

The Black Belt curriculum covers all the Green Belt subject matter and Black belt certified personnel usually train other Six Sigma aspirants to improve their abilities and skills. You can enroll directly into the Black Belt program without a Green Belt or Lean/DFSS certification.

What is Lean Six Sigma?

Companies that implement a Lean Six Sigma find that a majority of defects are actually created during the design process. Lean Six Sigma provides a systematic approach to reduce waste.

Lean Six Sigma Certification simply means a program that includes “lean” principles in the Six Sigma Curriculum. Many Six Sigma Black Belt programs are actually “Lean” Six Sigma Black Belt Programs.

If Black Belt or Lean Black Belt Certification requires more study and testing than you can manage at this time, find opportunities in Six Sigma as a Certified Green Belt or Certified Lean/DFSS (Green Belt level).

What is Lean Green Belt Certification?

Many choose Lean Six Sigma & Design for Six Sigma Certification as an alternative to Green Belt Certification. Lean programs cover many of the specifics that are covered in the Green Belt Program including basic DFSS implementation however they also teach Lean processes.

What is Green Belt Certification?

The curriculum for the Green Belt involves DMAIC, which stands for five interrelated phases: Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control. The Green Belt has two primary tasks: first, to help successfully deploy Six Sigma techniques, and second, to lead small-scale improvement projects within their respective areas.

Only Green and Black Belt levels certify you to actively participate in any Six Sigma processes. Six Sigma processes do require a bit of discipline and some ability to work with statistics, but no more than other professional certifications. However, if you are desire only an overview of the methods of Six Sigma processes, a Yellow Belt Certification is also available.

What is 6 Sigma Yellow Belt Certification?

Six Sigma Yellow Belt training provides insight to the techniques of Six Sigma, its metrics, and basic improvement methodologies. Yellow Belts may often be responsible for running smaller process improvement projects using the PDCA (Plan, Do, Check, Act) methodology. An individual who has received Six Sigma Yellow Belt training has received introductory training in the fundamentals of Six Sigma.

If you are still not convinced you would gain from a Yellow Belt Certification, Aveta Business Institute offers a White Belt Certification.

Originally developed by Bill Smith at Motorola in 1986, the Six Sigma Training program was created using some of the most innovative quality improvement methods from the preceding six decades. The term "Six Sigma" is derived from a field of statistics known as process capability. The term 6 Sigma refers to the ability of manufacturing processes to produce a very high proportion of output within specification. Processes that operate with "six sigma quality" over the short term are assumed to produce long-term defect levels below 3.4 defects per million opportunities. Six Sigma's goal is to improve overall processes to that level of quality or better.