The Levels Of Six Sigma Certification

Six Sigma is a methodological strategy by which errors in a company’s current processes and plans are identified and strategies to rectify the same are formulated. It is fact-based technique, involving a lot of data handling, which provides scientific results for cost cutting and reduction in waste of resources. Today, many organizations, large and small scale, are applying Six Sigma to ensure improved, faster and cheaper services to their consumers without compromising on the quality quotient.

Various Levels

Implementation of Six Sigma requires professionals who have been trained in the program and have had exposure to practically applying the concepts in different organizations across industries to know how to go about its application on the job. There is a Six Sigma certification program that has to be undertaken for gaining knowledge about this particular quality measurement practice. Six Sigma certification is similar to other professional courses in that after having cleared specified guidelines and followed the required procedure, individuals are certified as capable of employing the gained knowledge in their respective field. There are several stages of the program and with each qualifying level, certain tests that have to be cleared. These levels are labeled in the same manner as a martial arts certification grade. There are various belts such as green belt, black belt and master black belt awarded to professionals who complete corresponding stages of the course.

Green Belt

The first level is completed when an individual finishes two weeks of training and passes the qualifying exam. This level is termed Six Sigma Green Belt, which teaches all the essential methodologies. The curriculum for the Green Belt involves DMAIC, which stands for five interrelated phases: Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control. It defines customers, their needs, recommended products and services, the assignment limits and plotting process flow to improve current methods. It measures performance by developing and collecting data from numerous sources and scrutinizing it for flaws by comparing it with surveys. The Analyzing phase bridges the rift between present methods and targeted results. Improving stage works out various solutions to redefine the earlier processes and deploys implementation plans. The Control stage teaches how to maintain the new changes that have been introduced and maintain the documentation and contemporary systems in accordance with the goals.

Black Belt

The Six Sigma Black Belt is awarded to a professional who completes four weeks of training, which involves Green Belt curriculum as well. This phase’s curriculum covers Green Belt subject matter as well. Black belt certified personnel usually train other Six Sigma aspirants and Six Sigma Green Belt holders, and in the process improve their abilities and skills as well. The Six Sigma Black Belt level enables individuals to master the Six Sigma roadmaps, extensive arithmetical methodologies and cross-functional process improvement. Black belts usually take up responsibility as Six Sigma team leads.

Master Black Belt

A person who has undertaken more than the required four weeks training and implements it in an organization as a Six Sigma program manager is awarded the Master Black Belt. These personnel are responsible for imparting knowledge to help Green Belt level and Black Belt level learners in improvising on their projects. They apply their skills in an organization by coaching other employees and helping them achieve the Six Sigma Green Belt and Six Sigma Black Belt certification without the company having to spend on training separately.